Explore areas:
» Adaptability
» Inter-personal competences
» Affective competences
» Intra-personal competences
There are many ways of describing and assessing emotional intelligence.
The IGUANA approach views emotional intelligence as a holistic way of looking at, and engaging with the world. It sees emotional intelligence as a continuous process of self-awareness and self-development. Nevertheless, it is helpful to structure emotional intelligence into a set of specific elements or ‘competence areas’. These competence areas overlap with and complement each other, and no one particular competence area is seen as more important than any other area. The IGUANA learning programme covers four of these competence areas. These are:

  • Intra-personal competences – these help an individual to assess their emotional intelligence,
  • Inter-personal competences – these help an individual to apply their intra-personal competences to develop a positive relationship with the external world and with other people,
  • Adaptability – these help an individual to respond effectively to changing situations,
  • Affective competences – these help an individual assess their mood and how they manage their mood in relation to behaviours and relationships.

To see how these competence work and to find out where you are positioned in each area, take the emotional intelligence self-assessment by clicking any one of the four buttons. It doesn’t matter which one you choose, since no one competence area precedes or is more important than another.
For best results, the self-assessment should be done in one session, covering all four competence areas. To do the whole thing, it will take around 45 minutes. However, if you don’t have enough time to do all four in one go, then you can always come back to the tool at another time and pick up where you left off.

« Back